News!

Posted: August 18, 2009 in Updates

Albeit slightly stale and out of date, I’d be remiss in my duty as an Eve blogger if i didn’t make a post discussing the two hottest pieces of news to grace the game for a while. I speak, of course, of Unholy Rage and Dust 514.

Unholy Rage is nothing but good news. The loss of the isk farming parasites is no loss at all, and should hopefully see slight adjustments in the player economy, allowing the more entrepreneurial players to have more of an impact on the markets. Whilst I’m not one of these, more real player power is always good. I also look forward to less gold selling spam in local and the rookie channel. I was surprised and intrigued to see the graphs showing a cpu usage drop when the bans hit. Server impact wasn’t something i’d have asociated with RMT farmers.

Dust 514, on the other hand, leaves me with mixed feelings. I used to play a lot of FPS in the days of Unreal Tournament and Quake, and still have a fondness for them. A planetside FPS set in the Eve universe sounds like a real laugh. But… and it’s a big but… console only?! I only own a Wii (and even then just as a mechanism to provide exercise), and so will not get a chance to play any game that is console only. I have a long standing agreement with my wife that I will never purchase a games console to play games on (the Wii was only agreed to on the basis of no games). So, whilst I’d like to be excited about Dust 514, unless it comes to PC, I won’t be playing it.

Elsewhere, thursday sees the release of patch 1.5, which I’m looking forward to for its multi sized rigs and changes to probing. I’m also pretty excited by the announcements around Moondoggie – the IGB is in serious need of help and this could be just the tonic. Let’s hope it doesn’t end up as a boondoggle.

Leave a Reply

