Blog Banter XIV – Show me the money!

Posted: January 12, 2010 in Blog Banter, Missions, Psia, Updates

Welcome to the fourteenth installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com. Check out other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

The first banter of 2010 comes to us from the EVE Blog Father, CrazyKinux himself, who asks the following:
As we begin another year in New Eden, ask yourselves “What Now?” What will I attempt next? What haven’t I done so far in EVE? Was it out fear, funds, or knowledge? Have I always wanted to start my own corporation, but have never dared doing so? Is there a fledging mercenary waiting to come out of its shell? Or maybe an Industrialist? What steps and objectives will I set myself to accomplish in order to reach my ultimate goal for this year? EVE is what you make of it. So, what is it going to be for you?

So… what now? What next?

Well, the big things are not in doubt, nor in need of a change. I continue to have lots of fun with Eve University, I’ve found the right blend of responsibility and relaxation to fit with my play time and commitment levels. My duties with the Ivy League Navy, and as a Diplomat, continue to give me the organisational role that I seem to need to truly enjoy social games; but are light enough time commitments to enable a decent game/life balance. I’m making new friends all the time, and solidifying older friendships into something worthwhile. Honestly, to move on from the uni this year would mean that my attitude or circumstance has changed considerably from where I am now.

There is an area where I have a goal, however. An area where I have been a slacker, not taken my opportunities and have resolved to do something about it.

Money.

Yup, iskies. moolah. dosh.

Thus far i have taken a relaxed approach to the matter of making money. I’ve breezed through my Eve career, bought a couple of plex to fund myself and not worried too much about making vast quantities of isk. But, I’m paying for 2 accounts, and I’m not sure that this is sustainable, or desirable. So, my goal for this year is to fund at least one account through the use of isk to buy plex. My alt can now fly a decently fitted Raven, and has access to L4 missions. I have a second alt who is training trade skills, hauler skills and transport skills, who will sell on the loot. The intent is to get Psia into something to support my raven alt in missions, and make them go a lot faster. Whether that should be more DD, or RR in a logistics boat, I’m not sure.

By the middle of this year, say the beginning of July, I’d like to be making more than I’m spending, consistently week on week. By the third quarter, say the beginning of October, I want to be funding my alt account with plex.

So that’s it. My aim for the year. Make money. Easy, huh? Well, we’ll see… but certainly it’s a new aspect of Eve for me to experiment with, and I’m quite looking forward to it.

If you enjoyed this post, or even if you didn’t, be sure to check out the other participants in Blog Banter XIV!

Comments
  1. manasi says:

    Interesting…didn’t know you flew with EvEUni…none the less I wish you luck in your pursuit…I gotta tell ya that with the new Dominion the ability to run anomalies makes l4 missions seems slow…best of luck!

    • ChainTrap says:

      None the less? Issues with the Uni?

      Anomalies are a bunch of fun – scanned down an Angel watch and did the escalation for the first time the other day – but I can’t say that I’ve found them to particularly profitable thus far. Is that cos I’m in empire?

  2. […] Into the unknown with gun and camera – Show me the money […]

  3. Mynxee says:

    If missions get boring, you could always try a little EVE Online HoldEm! *chuckles*

    • ChainTrap says:

      Oh no… I said make isk… make, you hear!?! Not lose it all spectacularly, and be forced into living in a box made out of steel plates and metal scraps in a waste disposal unit in Jita.

      I must come play for a little spending money at some point tho…

    • Mike Azariah says:

      I agree, he wants to make isk . . . though I will always admit a skilled popker player can do that, we fly internet spaceships, only some of them look like a giant card shuffle (looking at YOU rohk)

      mike

  4. good luck with the ISK. It can be an interesting challenge in Eve but can be done … and ISK is the powerhorse in Eve, without it you can only accomplish small plans.

  5. […] Into the unknown with gun and camera – Show me the money […]

  6. […] Into the unknown with gun and camera – Show me the money […]

  7. […] Into the unknown with gun and camera – Show me the money […]

  8. […] Into the unknown with gun and camera – Show me the money […]

  9. […] Into the unknown with gun and camera – Show me the money […]

  10. […] Into the unknown with gun and camera – Show me the money […]

Leave a Reply

